Is this a week 7 thing?

*Weary sigh*…   this little baby has become impossible to ignore, even for 5 mins.

Apart from the fact that he’s still feeding more frequently than other people’s babies (constant snacking…  approx every 2 hours, but sometimes even more than that) he seems to want cuddling all of the time – or to be interacted with in some way.

Trying to get him to self-settle is not proving successful – he simply cries if left, and I can’t stand to leave him like that for long.  Most of the time the only thing that will get him to sleep is to be curled up like a little frog, face-down on mine or G’s chests, after which we can usually put him down by stealth.   Are we doing it all wrong and making a rod for our own backs?

My baby book warned that babies will start to fight sleep at 6-weeks, but is this a short phase or a long-term change?

On the plus side, he’s ever such a a cheerful, smiley little chap when he’s not crying.

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Is this a week 7 thing?

  1. Maxine says:

    I’m not an expert but I think my son and daughter in law found a solution. It seemed as if Ili was getting more upset when she could hear herself crying. They used to use a hairdryer to create some ‘white noise’, so that she couldn’t hear herself. It also warmed where she slept, but you probably don’t need that in August. Self-soothing using fingers probably came in a bit later, but that helped.
    Maxine

  2. Thanks Maxine – I’ll give the white noise a try!

  3. chiller says:

    Obv have no personal experience of this, but from watching my sister and several friends have babies, it seems they start off wonderful, then go through a phase where you really don’t get any sleep. Most new mothers crack at about the three month stage and begin fantasizing about leaving their baby in a shop, or auctioning him on eBay. And then, shortly after what I think of as the “baby crunch point”, it seems to calm down again. I guess the only advice I can offer is to be aware that this is normal, grit your teeth for a few weeks, and it does get easier!

  4. Thanks Rachel – you are easily as knowledgeable as I am – (possibly more so, as I hardly know anyone with babies!) Anyway I am comforted by this response.

Leave a Reply

