Does my head look big in this?

On Tuesday I took Microboy for his 7-week measurements, where his weight, length and head circumference were plotted on a percentile chart, showing what % of babies typically share those measurements at that age.  Unfortunately the measurements are always announced to me in unintelligible decimal figures and, being an old fashioned girl, I have to go home and translate them into good old imperial before they make any sense to me*.

The upshot is… since he was born, he has gained 2lb, grown by 2″ and expanded cranially by about an inch and a half.  (Or if you insist on being modern and European, we’re talking expansion from 3.25 to 4.6 kilos, 52 to 57 cm and 36.2 to 40cm).

The slightly odd thing about these measurements is where they fall on the percentile charts.  His length falls on the 50th percentile, making him as “Joe Average” as a boy could be, but his weight falls at the lighter end of average, on the 25th line.  (Apparently this is because he is being boob-fed, so he still has every chance of turning into Dudley Dursley once he is weaned).

Meanwhile his head falls on the 90th percentile!  So I asked the nurse: “Does this mean that he has an unusually big head for his size?”  and she replied “Oh no, not at all – that combination of measurements is perfectly ordinary”.  (Uh – ok then.)

It surprised me a little because I’ve always thought that his head seemed rather small, when compared with other babies.  Not that I know very many babies… but presumably there must be millions out there with much smaller heads?

Anyway…  not to worry.  For now, here are some gratuitous pictures of Microboy pulling faces with his big, fat head.

* Incidentally, my refusal to get with the times comes in quite useful whenever I get weighed at the doctor’s.  Having never owned a set of bathroom scales (seriously ladies – try it – it’s most liberating) I remain blissfully clueless whenever the doctor quotes an unintelligible number of kilos at me.  And I intend to stay that way!

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does my head look big in this?

  1. I LOVE the one of him with Glen. It’s hilarious. He looks so affronted!

  2. Tinkerbell1972 says:

    Sue this is so lovely – really enjoy reading your blogs! xx

Leave a Reply

