Toe-Gate

Well, dear friends,  I hope I am not tempting fate if I say that the toe saga is drawing to an end.  Right now Jim-Jam is fast asleep in bed and I am starting to wind down.

Today he saw the GP, who took one look at the toe and said that the tourniquet was clearly still in place and needed urgent removal, preferably under anaesthetic.   I have never been so disappointed to be right about something.   I could go on at length about how cross I feel with the doctor at West Middlesex who put him through two painful and thoroughly useless procedures before referring him back to the GP.  This meant that we had to spend a whole weekend with a toe that was not in any way improved.

If I am going to be specific, it was not the doctor’s inability to deal with the problem that has angered me.  I can accept that she may have been newly qualified and I don’t expect doctors to be an expert in every possible condition.  What I do expect is for them to put the needs of the patient before their pride.  Hence, what has really p’d me off about this whole experience is the arse-covering teflon behaviour in which this doctor wrapped her incompetence.  A complete refusal to admit to being wrong, when it was so obvious to my untrained eye that the baby needed further treatment, has meant that he suffered for two days too long and the skin was starting to grow over his tourniquet while we wasted time.  (On day two we even got “That hair wasn’t there yesterday”  …I kid you not.)

Anyway the good news is that the GP referred us for immediate attention at Chelsea and Westminster hospital, who are apparently much more geared up for paediatric procedures.   They saw us quickly and, as far as I can tell, the nurse who did the hands-on procedure has removed all traces of the  offending hair.  It was a horribly painful  experience for Micro, sadly with no anaesthetic, but at least that way it was fast and he was not placed in any risk.  All being well, the toe should heal within 2 weeks.  Hallelujah.

I have gory pics but, to quote Misfits, “nobody needs to see that!”

In the meantime I shall say only this.  Given his behaviour throughout toe-gate, this baby has shown himself to be the sweetest, most forgiving and cheerful little soul that ever lived.    Bless his ten toes.

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toe-Gate

  1. Oh how terrifying. I’m glad it’s finally sorted out- poor Microboy! I hope you’re going to write a sternly worded letter to the incompetent fools at West Middlesex?

Leave a Reply

