Zombie weekend

Dear sad-faced whiny malcontent,  whoever you are, kindly give Microboy his body back.  I miss my smiling boy.

Sigh… he’s ever so glum this week.  Glum and hungry and whiny.  In the space of a week he’s become a seething mass of frustration, brought about (I think) by a development spurt that allows him to roll and makes him want to move around and grab things, but he still can’t crawl or sit up by himself.  This combined with teething and a constant desire for attention…  suffice to say we’ve had some sleepless nights.

This weekend has been a total wash out for me… I have achieved precisely zero*.  (And as for the C word – I shall simply be known as Ethelred for the remainder of the year).

As a result of all this, I think I am going to bring forward two things that I wasn’t planning to do for another fortnight.  The first of these is to give Micro an early xmas present from his mummy & daddy… the ubiquitous Jumperoo baby bouncer (nouvelle jouet du jour!)   Word on the street is that it is a life saver for entertaining microbes and getting some hands-free time.  I suspect it will be a hideous monstrosity in my living room but never mind.  I am desperate enough to start believing the 300-odd 5-star reviews on Amazon.

The other thing that I am going to relent on is the first stage of weaning.  I was planning to start this at 6 months and in fact it was only a few days ago that I commented that I didn’t think he was ready.  But…  for the last 3 days, the boy has been feeding, gnashing and chomping on mummy flesh all night long like a crazed succubus.  Really, it is time for desperate measures.  So I think I will get some baby rice tomorrow and start him slowly, to see if he takes to it.

So… what an exciting month Jim-Jam has ahead of him.  Can you imagine tasting foods for the very first time?
* I suppose if I am going to be totally honest, I might place some of the blame for this on my discovery of Angry Birds.  Oh dear, oh dear.  (Yes, I do realise that everyone else has long since gone home from the party)

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

