Wailing and gnashing

Well hello there!  Long time no witter.  We’ve had a lovely xmas break in Devon, during which Microboy’s bedtime routine went completely out of the window…

But we’re back now and getting back into the swing of things.

So – today is 1st January 2012, and what has changed?  Lots of things!

Micro turned 6 months on 20th December and, most notably, has grown two teeth!  At least I think there are two…. you can’t really see much of them yet, but I can feel a pair of bottom incisors poking through.

What else?  Well I have continued having a go at weaning him on a variety of foods.  Mainly purees of my own making alongside a bit of finger food a-la baby led weaning (of which rice cakes with Philadelphia proved to be a hit).

Weaning has been rather confusing so far.  Sometimes he is a proper little guzzler, opening his mouth hungrily for everything I offer.  Other days he is just not interested in food and can go for several days in a row barely accepting anything at all and just wanting boob.  (Does teething make a baby lose his appetite?)  Still we will plough on and see how we go…

What else?  Well he can now roll on and off his back at will and has become scarily mobile simply by rolling about.  Today he toppled the xmas tree, which he got to by wriggling along about 5 feet away from where I left him.  He still can’t sit up unaided but is trying very hard and is desperate to crawl.

Most pleasingly, he seems to have got his cheerfulness back since christmas.  My smiling little boy has returned – hoorah!

The next big change to come…  one that I’m not looking forward to, is moving him into his own room.  Ok, I will have some fun assembling his cot and making the room nice, but until then he is still in his weeny co-sleeper crib alongside our bed.  If he seemed at all close to sleeping through the night I wouldn’t mind so much, but he still feeds several times.  I predict I will end up bringing him back into our bed in the small hours just so that we can both get some decent sleep.

Anyway… never mind all that.  The top news of the week is that he now fits into his Robot Boy pyjamas – which I have been secretly dying for!  Am now ded of cute.

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wailing and gnashing

  1. Hester says:

    I know I’m late to this post, but he’s utterly gorgeous! In the robot PJs pic (yes, seriously very cute!), he looks like he’s twisting his tongue; does he do that a lot? Babies seem to get very into tongue and lip contortions around 10-12 months usually, and presumably it helps them hone their language production skills, so if he’s doing it already, he’s ahead of the curve!

    • Hey, that’s fascinating, thanks! I will look out for it, now you’ve mentioned it. He is a shrieky, vocal little horror at the moment… so I bet he becomes a talker before a walker. (Someone told me they either focus on learning to get things for themselves, or learning how to nag!)

      When I did A Level Eng Language we learned some stuff about child language acquisition. I wish I could remember more of it.

Leave a Reply

