You’re the one for me, Fatty

So…  in continuation from my last ramble, Micro’s appetite seems to have woken up and I had this idea of writing an erudite and detailed post about my temporary addiction to his purée making gadge*.  But I am all puréed out and can’t be bothered, so I will let pics do the work instead.

I spent the morning possessed by the deranged being that is Susie Slopmaker, turning this lot…

…into this lot

Today’s fruity batches include a (totally gorge) combo of mango, nectarine and apricot and a selection of odd-bod combinations containing blueberries, apples, pears, nectarines and apricots.  (I wasn’t sure whether Micro would like the blueberry ones but he seemed to react positively on a taste test.)  Today’s veggie batches are made up of various combos containing peas, sweet potatoes, carrots and apple.

I’ve also made a couple of speculative protein dinners – one combining sweet potato, carrots and cheddar, another containing a steamed cod fillet blended with potato and peas.  (They both taste pretty nice to me…  will see what Micro makes of them later.)

 

Anyway it’s not all home-cooked goodness from Susie Slopmaker.  As I mentioned before I’ve been trying out some of the baby ready-meals in pouches that have popped up all over the place.  There seems to be a trio of competing brands pitching themselves at the genteel/lefty/Waitrose/my-other-favourite-shop-is-a-farmers-market set.  These are Plum, Organix and Ella’s Kitchen…

  

Jim-Jam has tried all three brands so far and merrily lapped up the lot – I’m not sure there is a lot of difference between them, though Organix and Plum seem to have a better variety of savoury veg flavours than Ella’s Kitchen.  Anyway I’m quite impressed – they’re proving to be very handy additions to my changing bag because they’re a relatively mess-free way to feed the Microbe in public.  (Also the  flavour combos are quite good for nicking ideas from).  They do taste a little different from fresh food though… even with no additives whatsoever I think the packaging process changes the flavour and loses some of the zing.  Not that it seems to bother babies.

Well I expect that’s more information than any sane human could ever want to know about my baby’s diet.  Sorry…

* Those of you who know what a fad-meister I am, how long do you give me before this obsession-of-the-week runs out?  

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You’re the one for me, Fatty

  1. Kriss says:

    That is unbelievably organised!

Leave a Reply

