what would you say if I sang out of tune?

In the grand tradition of parenthood, I have spent a good chunk of January leaving Jim-Jam to fend for himself whilst I play merrily with his xmas toys.  I am especially prone to stealing time on this 8-note baby xylophone…

As it turns out, there aren’t very many tunes that you can play with a single octave of 8 notes, including no sharps or flats.  You can do Twinkle Twinkle, 3 Blind Mice and London Bridge, but these become dull very quickly indeed.

Today G almost managed Don’t Cry for Me Argentina, until he fell foul of a missing sharp.  Meanwhile I have discovered that you can do the whole of Fernando, along with Brahms’s Lullaby and the chorusy bit of Beethoven’s Ode to Joy.

So – music buffs, what else can you play with only 8 notes, starting with C?

*hears the distant drums and sounds of bugle calls, coming from afar…*

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Motherhood, Silliness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to what would you say if I sang out of tune?

  1. Cindy says:

    Do, a deer, a female deer
    Re, a drop of golden sun
    Mi, a name, I call myself
    Fa, a long long way to RUNNNNN
    So – a needle pulling thread
    La, a note to follow so
    Ti, a drink with jam and BREAADDD, and that brings us
    Back to
    DO
    ******
    How Much is that Doggie in the Window?
    ******
    Joy To the World
    ******
    Jingle Bells
    *******
    You Are My Sunshine (except for the first G – just do two C’s)
    ******
    Pachelbel’s Canon in D
    (okay – not the last one… but the others, I used to play for my kidlets on their rainbow piano.)

  2. Cindy says:

    Oh, and don’t forget WINDY! You can do a duet!

    Who’s tripping down the streets of the city,
    smiling at everybody she sees,
    who’s reaching out to capture a moment,
    everyone knows it’s Windy!

    Bah, bah bah bah bah..

    And Windy has STORMY eyes!
    That flash at the SOUND of LIEs,
    and Windy has WINGS to FLY,
    Above the clouds…

Leave a Reply

