There was a little boy who had a little curl…

James had a 2-hour trial slot at nursery today.  When I went to pick him up he was ensconced in the corner of the room, having a ball with one of the staff members and a pile of toys.  When he spotted me he broke into the biggest grin I’ve ever seen and crawled over to be picked up and cuddled.  So sweet.

The staff said that he’s proving to be an absolute angel so far.  Apparently they consider it a treat when he visits, because he’s such a happy boy and is interested in everything – whereas they’re used to babies finding the whole thing very traumatic and crying a lot.  I’m almost sorry now that he’s only going to be going for one day a week – I think he really enjoys his time there.  The week after next they’re going to try what I suspect will be the really difficult bit… getting him down for milk and a nap without me.  (I am willing to place a bet that he will fight sleep and be still wide awake and grizzly when I go to pick him up 4 hours later.)

Still… he does seem to eat well at nursery.  Today they fed him a lunch of some kind of hotpot made with quorn mince.  Apparently he ate almost all of it, so I might have to try that at home.

Of course none of this changes the fact that he remains Satan’s Limb in the privacy of our own  home.  This morning I made the terrible error of dozing off for 20 mins without closing the gate at the end of the hallway.  When I awoke I wondered why it was so quiet…  until I went looking for him and found the kitchen and bathroom floors concealed under an apocalyptic mountain of spilled talc, water, cosmetics, bottles of wine and brandy, paperwork from the noticeboard and a gazillion other things like pins and other WRONGNESS that he had found ways of reaching.  Wah!

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There was a little boy who had a little curl…

  1. sarahmumof3 says:

    always the case they are good as gold at nursery and horrors at home, you can guarentee if you buy the same hotpot style food he will turn his nose up to it but eat it all at nursery! hope he behaves brillaintly at nap time for them 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

