Sideshow Bob

Recently I have been thinking…  if I could go back in time to various points in the last year I would tell myself this:   “Whatever it is you’re angsting about right now, don’t bother doing anything about it.  Just wait a while longer and it will go away all by itself”.

In fact I really must remember this the next time I start fretting over some thing or other that James is or isn’t doing.

This week, for instance, I’ve put Jim-Jam to bed every night on a full stomach, having watched him eat three perfectly good meals, plus snacks.  Tonight he put away half a salmon flllet, served with stir-fried vegetables, steamed rice and a gorgeous plum, orange and ginger sauce.  A few weeks ago this sort of dinner would have seemed UNTHINKABLE.  It’s like he has suddenly turned into a boy.

Likewise, his full transition to bottles and cups just seems to have happened all by itself, simply by waiting until he was ready.  It’s not that long ago that I was still searching the world over for some magic bottle teat or sippy cup that would not be rejected.  Now he is perfectly au fait with having his juice in a variety of cups and he practically rips my hand off three times a day in his eagerness for the cheapo Superdrug easy-grip milk bottle that we’ve got on the go.

Babies, eh.  G has suggested that James’s increased time at nursery probably has a lot to do with the recent developments and I think he may be right.  Nursery magic.

We haven’t transitioned him onto cow’s milk yet as he’s still clearly preferring the sweeter taste of Aptamil follow-on milk.  But I’m not in a mad hurry to get him off it anyway as I suspect he might be benefitting from the added iron, given the lack of red meat in our diet.

So… what else is new?

Well, he has discovered loads of new words lately.  His current favourites are food-related ones such as “mulk!” and “cheese!” and “bread!”.  He’s also prone to wandering up to strangers and saying “ello!” every chance he gets and shouting “ah-plaaaaane!” with both arms in the air whenever an aeroplane flies overhead.

Last week we got his feet measured and he is a size 4F, apparently.  So we bought two pairs of Start-Rite shoes that make him look like Side Show Bob.  I’m not even kidding – there is an acre of shoe past the end of his toes, they look crazy.  My supermum colleague assures me this is normal and accounted for when they do the measuring…   but it led to a solid week of accidents, crashes and bruises while James got used to wearing virtual flippers.  His face and body ended up so bruised that I’m amazed we weren’t arrested while walking him home from nursery.

In other walking related news, we have bit the bullet and procured some reins.  Here he is going for a walk on his leash…

Yesterday the weather was insane.  We had gobstopper-sized hailstones pelting down for at least half an hour.  Jim-Jam was utterly transfixed, bless him.

Most of the day we stayed indoors and hid from the wetness.  Thank goodness for his building blocks.  He’s got to an age where he can stack them into little towers, counting to three.  But mainly he likes to watch me build so that he can destroy it all with one swipe.


In contrast to yesterday, today was absolutely beautiful.  It was a day of balmy sunshine and felt like the very early onset of autumn.  We wandered into Marble Hill Park and then on to the playground.  So lovely.

I’m sure I had a billion other things that I was planning to say on here but I can’t remember any of it right now so I guess it will have to wait for another day.

Night night all!

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James, Motherhood, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

