Name that colour?

These days, if somebody were to ask me what colour James’s eyes are I would honestly struggle to answer it.

When he was born, his hair was lightish and his eyes blue/grey.  I thought that he may end up with similar colouring to me but, over the last year, both have steadily darkened, to the extent that I really have no clue what eye colour this is any more.  Depending on the  light, they seem to veer between dark blue/grey and hazel, with flecks of an ill-defined green/brown hue.

Here are three pictures taken today in different lights.  Obviously taking into account, that computer monitors will vary widely in how these display…  what say you?

I am starting to suspect that the closest family match is his Grandma on daddy’s side, whose eye colour is officially hazel but with greenish flecks and was referred to by her mother as ‘tweed’.

On a related topic, I think he is going to be a brown-haired boy.  So tell me – what is the male equivalent of the word ‘brunette’?  (Brune?  Brunet?  Something else?  No such thing?)

 

 

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

