Pigs and giraffes and bears, oh my!

Lately the boy’s game-playing has taken on the obsessive theme of eating or being eaten. (The irony!)  Idle conversations in our house have become a bit like this:

“Mummmy, do eagles eat reindeers?”
“Do snakes eat spiders?”
“Does the crocodile want to eat me?”
“Do lions eat cows?”
“I’m the big bad wolf. Can I eat you?”

I suppose it’s only to be expected, given that most of his stories are tales of one character trying to escape consumption by another (The Three Little Pigs, The Billy Goats Gruff, The Fox & The Hen, The Gingerbread Man, The Gruffalo…  etc).

The Three Little Pigs is one of Microbe’s particular bedtime favourites at the moment and G tortures him with it on a nightly basis.  (Just as James is nodding off, G will say “elephants” when he is meant to say “pigs“.. which makes the boy jerk awake and bellow “PIIIIIIIGS!!” in a voice that you could hear from Space.)

In seasonal matters, it feels like we’ve been living in an insane hotbed of festive activity since the weekend.  It started on Saturday morning with the nursery’s Christmas fete, at which each microbe got to have a tête-à-tête with Father C. The two little girls in line ahead of James burst into tears as soon as they laid eyes on Santa, so James got ushered to the front at record speed and was able to discuss his mole requirements at length.

You want what??

Then we took him to the Enchanted Woodland at Syon house with his aunties & uncle, which was a fabulous and lovely mile-long trail, culminating in a music and light show in the conservatory…

Then on Sunday it was our local community Xmas fair, which had live reindeer, a giraffe merry-go-round ride and an AMAZING animatronic polar bear.  I am not sure that these pics capture how realistic and huge it was… I think that some of the kids were a little bit scared to stroke it.

And finally, after all that excitement, it was Xmas tree day.  This year, as threatened, I threw good taste to the wind and created a Pinterest-inspired felt tree that the microbe can decorate and undecorate at will. I think he likes it, though I’m having a bit of trouble getting it to stay on the bedroom door with white-tac. I might have to hang it on a picture hook instead.

As for the real tree, I ended up decorating it by myself (purely so that my 4-legged toddler Harriet can spend all day batting the baubles back off it).  I have a feeling the boy is becoming a tad burned out by Christmas already.  They seem to have been ‘doing Xmas’ for weeks at nursery – and when you add on the 50-odd local Xmas fetes, grottos and fun days  round our way it’s all a bit much, really. I fully expect him to be shouting “HUMBUG!” by Christmas eve.

Anyway, after an over-exciting weekend the microbe was dog-tired on Sunday afternoon and it was bliss when he eventually zonked off to sleep. G and I lit some candles and experienced true peace on earth to the dulcet tones of Jezzer Paxman, with a recorded episode of Uni Challenge.  *contentment*

As things stand, I still haven’t finished my Xmas shopping and we’ve failed to write a single Xmas card. These remain on my list of things to do next weekend.  That and make a panettone (or, more accurately, prod G to make a panettone).

Oh – and before I forget, we also went to Sidmouth and had a jolly beachy weekend with Helena and the grandparents, so I shall say farewell with a few pics from there…

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

