Beaches and Bonnets

Good morning all. This is a quick fly-by for pics & memoir purposes.

First of all, may I introduce the Easter Fascinator…

photo (38)

This was concocted in a state of heightened “ARGH!” last night, sometime between 10pm and 11pm. I’d just poured an enormous glass of wine and sat down to watch Game of Thrones, when the horrible realisation hit me that Monsieur Crobe was expected to be bonnet-clad at nursery tomorrow. Cue an hour of frantic rummaging, cutting and sellotaping. I was about to start cutting up a large cardboard carrier bag when I discovered a cache of leftover fancy paper from my crafty days of yore (hallalujah!) That and some plastic eggs from Poundland saved the day.

The downside of making a hat at 11pm is that it turns out I have ABSOLUTELY NO CLUE how big a 2 year-old’s head is. Hence I am calling it a fascinator. The only way it stays on his head is if I tie it under his chin with garrotte-level force and ban him from all movement.

In other news, we had an absolutely glorious weekend at Grandma’s house in Devon. The weather was better than any of us could have hoped for and Jimmy really enjoyed seeing family and hero-worshipping his cousin Henry (who has become Helena’s chief rival for the title of Most Beloved Person on Earth) and paddling about on the beach and running around Grandma’s lovely garden.

How gorgeous is this?

IMG_0957

I’ve put a few more pics below… (click to view bigger) and there are loads more in this Flickr album… Sidmouth – April 2014

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James, Pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beaches and Bonnets

  1. Pingback: Rage against the machine | This Charming Boy

Leave a Reply

