Don’t go breaking my bones

Lately, when the Microbe hears something that displeases him (e.g. the words “no” or “bathtime“) his reaction is to do a sort of Quasimodo tap dance of protest on the spot, coupled with a noise that sounds like “nnnnngggggggeeeeeuuuuuuuuuu!“.

Is this a well-known thing or do I need to send him back for repairs?

In other news, we appear to have signed him up for every single extracurricular activity that nursery has to offer. (It seems we are those parents). His current offerings include:

  • Theatre Bugs. I have no idea what they get up to as the boylet’s feedback has been unintelligible from day one, though he sometimes sings tuneless dirges in the bath after each session.   
  • Stretch and Grow. This is vaguely sport-related and teaches them about their bodies. He’s been doing it for yonks and the only discernible side effect has been that he comes home once a week with a stamp on his hand. (Except for the other day when he told me where his spine was and announced that his tummy is full of “abdominos“)   
  • Toddler French. This starts next week. I’m guessing they must have talked about it today at nursery because he came home and told me “Mummy, my class is called French and I will be saying Ola!

Meanwhile, one of my NCT friends has signed her boy up for toddler rugby at weekends and I am still debating whether it would be character-building or child-abuse to sign up my spindly, unsporting little waiflet for the same. (I think I’m coming down on the side of child abuse.)

He’s far happier getting his groove on. He’s had a go on a couple of electric keyboards recently at relatives’ houses and last weekend I heard him ad-libbing a blues track with these lyrics

“I went to the park
And met a dog
I picked up a conker
And put it in my scooter bag…”

(Don’t give up the day job, Otis).

If you want further proof, here’s his best Elton John impersonation… (covering that lesser known album track, Banana) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEWLlIAXAMs

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

