Thing Two

Happy new year, dear blog. I suppose now might be a good time to mention some news…

thing2Despite my crone-like state, and tiny residence, and usual sanity about lifestyle decisions, there is going to be a Thing Two.

Ruprecht 2.0 is scheduled to make a noisy appearance in late May 2015. (Hopefully I’ll find out which flavour to expect on 12th Jan.)

For now – the pressing concern is this. What do you call something that is smaller than a microbe? The internet suggests “subatomic particle“, which is splendid, though a bit of a mouthful. Perhaps I shall go with “quark” or “atom” for short.

Anyway, all seems to be going sub-atomically well so far. The heinous horror of the first trimester is behind me and I’m currently in the middle bit where you feel pretty good and everything plumps out and you drop a few years off your face (only to gain them back with interest a few months after the screamer is born).

The main down sides so far have been mild insomnia, food aversions and occasional black-outs in confined spaces. I’d actually forgotten all about those… I had them a few times in rush hour when I was preg with the Microbe and it’s caused by low blood pressure combined with an inability to move more than a few millimetres in any direction. I’ve had a few repeat episodes so far, starting on the tube a week before my scan – which I took to be a good sign that the quark must be alive and well in there – and I was right!

I no longer need such reassurance… not only is the bump way bigger than last time (muscle tone being a thing of the past) but it’s also a fidegty little atom, making his/her presence felt on a daily basis and much earlier than the microbe ever did. (James preferred to play the part of Schroedinger’s baby by refusing to reveal himself as alive or dead until observed at least twice.)

I haven’t told the boybot about his pending sibling and he seems not to have noticed my burgeoning girth. There’s plenty of time to fill him in so we’ll probably wait until we know what flavour little Ruprecht is going to be. (Gah – I suppose I’m also going to have to rethink this blog title.)

Well, that’s all for now. So – for want of anything better – I shall leave with the obligatory grainy, incoherent scan pic from 6 weeks ago…  there is a humanoid in there somewhere if you squint well enough.

12 week scan

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Motherhood, Pregnancy & Birth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

