Thanks for all the fish

Well… this is me skipping off into the sunset.  It’s my last day at work for a year – and I ran out of handover-ish things to do by mid-afternoon so have slipped away early.

G has hopped on a plane and is back in a week. In true nesting style, I came up with a grand plan for his absence, involving slopping paint samples all around the walls – and going mad redecorating the flat.

However he gave me a reality check this morning by pointing out that:

  1. There’s loads of prep work that I won’t be able to do by myself (mostly involving ladders and repairs and furniture-shifting and electric sockets, none of which are ideal for an off-balance, clumsy, absent minded insomniac.)
  2. He has huge amounts of work to get through before Thing 2 arrives, so won’t be able to get sucked into my DIY urges when he returns.

Bah! I’m going to have to tone down my ambitions for now.

I might do a bit of sorting and mending and tidying…  and maybe get some paint samples and see whether a professional could come and do the hard work for us, before or after Thing 2 arrives.

Or maybe I’ll just hibernate in my shabby, poorly decorated, full-of-holes residence and make a quilt…   or have a week-long love-in with my Xbox… or take lots of naps.

I haven’t had more than 2 hours of unbroken sleep in weeks.  And when I do nod off, I snore disgustingly. It freaks me out and keeps waking me up. I remember snoring in my last month with James, so I suppose it’s just a rite of passage.

I’ll also be glad to see the back of these swollen feet and calves. It’s so weird looking at your legs and not recognising them. They get even worse after a c-section. An uber-thoughtful friend has bought me some shrinky leg gel that I might try out at the weekend.

In Microbe news, we were very pleased yesterday evening to discover that he’s been offered a place at our #1 school choice. I was totally braced for getting choice #2 …or worse, so this feels really lucky.

I just wish the same had been true for everyone. I’m really shocked for one of my NCT friends whose local council failed to offer a place at any of their four choices. Instead they offered a place at a school with an OFSTED rating of ‘Inadequate’.  (Seriously – what kind of an offer is that? How is it fair to any of the kids who go there? Are people just supposed to say “ok”?)

In cheerier news, tomorrow will be a fun day – I’m having afternoon tea in a hotel up town with some friends that I haven’t seen in years – hooray!  (I hope the boybot behaves himself for Uncle Andrew while I’m gone.)

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Pregnancy & Birth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

