Fly away Peter

Jimmy and I had an animal rescue mini-drama at the allotment site today…

I was footling about behind the shed when my eagle-eyed henchman came running over and told me that he was sad because a little bird (a thrush, I think) was trapped in some netting nearby.  We thought it was probably dead as it was tightly tangled up at ground level and not moving. But when I approached it started flapping about in panic.

The good news is that we were able to snip away the netting carefully and the bird flew away with no apparent damage done. I don’t know how long the poor thing had been trapped but it had enough energy left to bite me repeatedly and make itself as objectionable as possible while I was attempting to help it.

As the microbe’s first animal rescue experience (I doubt it will be his last) this was probably the highlight of his weekend. I made sure to tell him that the bird was only alive thanks to him. I doubt I’d have spotted it and in fact we were only at the allotment on his request.

In baby news, we introduced Matilda to some high contrast baby books this morning – the same set that I had for the boybot when he was tiny.  James was interested to see a photo of himself looking at them when he was 4 weeks old and still had his weird Clive Anderson hairdo. Then, for fun, we decided to stage a matching picture of Matilda.

Once again, like brother like sister… (you can click to view them larger)

Next Monday it’s going to be Pops’s funeral, which will be a sad and difficult day. G and I were discussing whether or not to bring the boy along but we’ve decided to try and arrange things so that we can leave him at home. He’s unlikely to understand what’s going on and the last thing that grieving people need is a small, confused child running about with no grasp of how to behave. We’ll have to bring the girl with us for feeding purposes but I’ll cross my fingers and hope that she sleeps through the service.

James’s new school has organised an induction meeting for parents on the same day, but I’m hoping that they’ll offer a way for us to get the information separately, given the circumstances.

On a happier topic, I can’t believe my little microbe is going to be four in 6 days’ time!*

He’s spotted some packages arriving and knows that they’re top secret and related to his birthday, which has introduced him to an entirely new sort of agony – he’s been unaware of this sort of suspense until now. Suffice to say I have to be extra good at hiding stuff nowadays.

We still haven’t decided what to do with him on the day, but it’ll probably involve a farm or a local show or a museum. Firming up the plans is on my to-do list for this week…  that and sorting out the party bags and cake for his party on the Sunday. Fingers crossed for nice weather…

* ps – for those family members who were wondering, I can confirm that his amazon wish list is fully up to date – and if anyone is desperate for a  further hint, I have a feeling he’d *really* like the toy sloth! 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

