Mindfulness on the streets of Twickenham

Any idea I had that maternity leave would protect me from the horrors of networking went out of the window this morning as I attended a coffee morning for reception parents at James’s school. This took the form of a hall filled with yummy mummies milling about and making small talk.

Gargh!

In fairness, lots of them were very nice. And I had come prepared with the secret weapon that is Matilda’s beaming face strapped to my chest, which makes breaking into cliques and huddles a tad easier.

Chatting to other mums also proved moderately enlightening as to what the kids get up to all day. The Microbe might as well be spending his days down a coal mine for all the info I get out of him. On a good day I can prise out that he “played with Tom” and had something or other for lunch. Conversely, one mum said that her son has started doing prayer hands and saying “namaste” over breakfast, due to the fact that they’ve been doing yoga during “quiet time”. You have to love St Margarets.

In other news, Facebook did that thing earlier of showing me a photo I posted 2 years ago. But, frankly, I refuse to believe it. There’s no way the Microbe’s bedroom has ever been this tidy…

On_This_Day

I was planning to get up and take a quick photo of how it looks now – toymageddon and all – but Mildred has fallen asleep on me so you’ll just have to use your imagination.

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

