Acceptable in the 80s

My favourite sound of the morning was G’s guffaw when the microbe went pitter-pattering down the corridor yelling: “Daddy, will you show me pictures of New Romantics wearing make-up?

This arose from his mild fascination with watching me put on slap. (The boy is now well-enough attuned that I can send him to the bathroom to get a specific make-up brush for me and he actually gets the right one).

Anyway this morning’s convo went like this…

“Mummy, can men wear make-up?”
“Yes, if they want to, though it’s more common these days for women to wear it.”
“I’d like to wear makeup when I am grown up”
“With your lashes, you will be insanely pretty. When I was a little girl lots of men used to wear makeup. Most of my favourite singers were men who wore lots of makeup and had big, flooofed-up hair”
“That’s funny, mummy!”
“Yes – they were called New Romantics”
“Can I see pictures?”
“Go and ask daddy…”

*pitter-patter* etc.  

So G did a Google image search for him, and the first hit was Boy George, at which point the Microbe bellowed

“Nooo, Daddy – I wanted to see MEN!”

Hee!

For reasons best known to himself, the Microbe got up at 5am this morning. I know this because I heard him singing and playing his stir drum in his bedroom. Apparently this is how he deals with insomnia. By the time I got up, several hours later, he had turned on all of the lights and, among other things, had drawn a very detailed picture of a warthog. I would bet money that he also took the opportunity to sneak a look in every single drawer of his advent calendar, which he’s been trying to do for days.  In any case, I anticipate picking up an unhinged, sleep-deprived gremlin by 3:15 today.

So – I have been very remiss with blogging lately. I’ve had all manner of updates and funny anecdotes whirling in my head, but none of them have managed to find their way to WordPress, and have ended up lost in time.

Must do better. So I am planning a big old ramblathon later…

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

