Night Rambles

It is late wine o’clock, and the microbes are long asleep, so I shall rattle off an overdue ramble.

I’m on single parent duty this week as G is away on a work event. Mostly this means that I get up earlier in the mornings and eat things like baked beans for dinner at around 4pm.  Also next week I will have to rule the Microbe with a rod of iron when it comes to getting ready for school in the mornings. FullSizeRender (11)But all days return eventually to the well-worn ritual of watching telly until I fall asleep over half drunk wine, so it’s not all bad.

The boybot finally zonked out around 9pm this evening, having expired from excitement at tomorrow’s planned treat. This will be his third visit in as many months to the Natural History Museum – his new favourite place. A hallowed hall of stuffed, dead, and wonderfully obscure life forms.

26001019300_6939b94f6c_oTomorrow’s trip is courtesy of some very kind friends of mine who have a sturdy tolerance for the boy’s unending nattering. (They’ve given him the nickname ‘David Chattenborough’, which is far more fitting than anything I ever dreamed up.)

As for the girlbot, she’ll stay home with me and crawl/cruise about the flat like a tiny, mini-me-shaped wrecking ball. She’s a bit of a grumpy grizzler this week. I’d like to think it’s teething-related, but there’s been no advance on the two she’s got so far. (I’m sure the boybot had a lot more teeth by this stage).

25844075254_b78c5d25fe_oBut what a dreamy little sleeper she is. She may be slow to zonk off in the evenings but she’s ever so good at staying that way once she does. So unlike her brother. Chalk and cheese, the two of them (Mildred being the cheese, obv). I always suspected that James’s nighttime wakefulness was linked to having the appetite of a gnat – and my chubby little human hoover does nothing to disprove that theory. Bless.

26171985805_ed118f5e00_o

She has her first settle-in session at nursery on 25th April. Yikes. I hope she likes it… because back to work looms. I fear that will also be a bit of a shock to the boybot, having to go to an after-school club called ‘Fit for Sport’ every day (shudder) instead of being picked up by me at 3:15.  I’m wondering if I can fudge it a bit with my hours, between now and July, so that he only has to do that full-time when the next school year starts.

His latest hobby, besides relentless crafting, is googling. As far as he is concerned, the whole of the internet is called “google” and it is a veritable box of delights. Mostly he uses it to look up pictures of animals (with safe search switched on) and then copies the pictures onto bits of paper “for your scrap book, Mummy!”.

I just nosed at his google search history, for illustrative purposes…

“pumbaa”
“are honey badgers omnivores”
“porcupette”
“african cresded porcupette”
“caracal”
“raptors”
“dic the recks” (your guess is as good as mine)
“natural history museum wolverine”
“can wolverines swim”
etc.

As for me, I have been trying to sew. The mood suddenly took me to try and finish several quilts that I started yonks ago but time is not my friend. It’s nigh impossible to make progress on anything when Mildred is awake. But I did become quite good at Microbe multitasking over the Easter holidays, with a lot of this sort of thing:

“Mummy can we play the game where I’m a honey badger and you’re a thorny devil?”
“No, I’m busy”

“Pleeeeeeeease”
*Groan* “Can I sew at the same time?”
“Yes! You don’t even have to move! I will tell you what to say!”
*Groan* “Oh, go on then…”

Rather alarmingly, having wittered on about honey badgers while I was sewing one afternoon, the boybot must have been making a mental note of how to use my sewing machine, because a day later he proudly presented me with a deformed-looking “cat toy” that he’d made out of very thick cardboard and thread…  USING MY SEWING MACHINE! It wasn’t even switched on so he must have worked that out too. I was in equal parts aghast and impressed and amazed that the needle didn’t snap. We had to have a talk about never using my machine without an adult helping… and I had to change the needle before it wrecked my quilt.

Anyway I have finally finished one using Roald Dahl themed fabrics. (It has flaws so don’t look too closely). It’s one of a matching pair and I really need to finish its sibling before ‘second quilt syndrome’ sets in and it gets relegated to the loft.

Oh for the love of god. No sooner blogged than proven wrong, The girlbot has just woken up and is screaming loudly enough to wake the neighbours. Bah!

Until next time…

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

