How to get rid of stubborn cradle cap

Something to add to the list of squicky yet satisfying parent jobs – watching your baby’s beautiful, smooth scalp reveal itself at last. I know everyone says to just leave cradle cap alone and let it resolve itself but 11 months of blight seemed like enough. I wonder whether it might be more stubborn on babies with a full head of hair.

Anyway thank you, Mumsnet. It turns out that soaking your baby in oil and then going at it with a nit-comb is the answer. Hooray!

Should any random baby-wielding person happen to read this and want to know how I got rid of it, here is precisely what worked for me.

  1. Put baby in high chair and cover their scalp with oil and massage it in (I used a little spray bottle of rosehip seed oil that my sis gave me, which was perfect!)
  2. Wait an hour or longer. Distract baby with milk/piles of biscuits/Bollywood nursery rhymes and hope that they fall asleep in the chair.
  3. Using this specific nit comb, gently comb away all of the cradle cap – it just comes away with the comb. (Best do this on an empty stomach.)
  4. Wash baby’s hair thoroughly with shampoo to get all of the oil out.
  5. Admire the fresh, scalpy goodness!

And here’s another tip one might be looking for – the backpack-style diaper bag, very convenient.

So, Mildred’s hair was a sight to behold after two shampooings with my Aussie Mega Shampoo. She looked like a tiny walking haystack.

I have no idea if the cradle cap will come back at any point but if it does I think I shall repeat this process.

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Along came Matilda. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

