What a way to make a living

Blah. I seem to be made of tiredness and guilt at the moment…

Guilt at going back to work…

Guilt at Hubble’s long nursery days and shunting the boy to something called ‘Fit for Sport’ for almost 5 hours a day in order to make my necessary hours at work…

Guilt that I seem to be spending every day like an automaton, hauling the kids out of bed, into clothes and off to school/nursery, then back home to bed… with seemingly no quality time whatsoever.  Nothing but “Hurry up!” and “Stop that!” and “EAT!” and “Go to sleep!” and laundry.

Guilt that I will not be attending sports day this week, or a picnic for the queen’s birthday or any of the other gazillion whimsical things that school insists on organising for parents during the working day.

Guilt at the state of the housework…

And guilt that I have failed to find time to do a blog post to commemorate all of the cute things about Little Miss Hubblepot that I wanted to remember. It has all been lost in the mists of time. Suffice to say she is a little angel… made of snot. Not to mention the fact that she has turned one and I haven’t sent out thank-you notes.

I was thinking that things would calm down soon, when G’s flurry of work trips is over and I’m back out of single parentland – but now we have a sudden, unexpected deadline for bankruptcy-inducing building work and I could weep. We’ll probably spend every non-working minute of the next two weeks trying to empty our loft… which is literally FULL of crap. Ok the ‘crap’ bit is not entirely literal.

Still… at least once the loft is done I can stop feeling guilty about Little Miss Hubble’s bedroom situation.

I don’t know how we’re going to fit in celebrating James’s birthday… or attending the approximately 37 party invitations that he seems to have received for other people’s birthdays. This party business is unrelenting.

On the plus side of being back at work, I am getting paid again… halleluajah! However, thanks to the loft, we’re going to be too poor to go on holiday this year. The boy asked me the other day if we could go camping and I said “Um… lets ask Daddy about that”..  *that ripple you just felt was G shuddering, all the way from Singapore*

Also it’s nice to have time to read again. Even if it is restricted to 25-minute sessions twice a day in the Black Hole of Calcutta, holding onto a pole whilst wedged into someone’s sweating armpit and dodging rib-poking handbags.

Also I have discovered that my work has replaced the free coffee machines that used to make terrible coffee with ones that make very good coffee.

And my new manager is lovely.

And I’m excited that I am going to get a new niece or nephew this year (an excuse to knit or sew more TINY THINGS!)

So, not all bad.

For want of anything better – I have found these sweet phone pics of the microbes, taken at a friend’s birthday party. (I’m afraid my photography doesn’t get any better than this these days)


About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

