There was a little girl

Hubble and I seem to be locked in a prolonged battle of wills these days. Dear god, this girl is a wilful, raging little beast. Is this a girl thing?  I’m sure the Microbe was ever more docile and easy to reason with.

IMG_7247Just look at it…

Purest sugar and spice.

Until we raise the topic of hair clips. And getting dressed. And staying dressed. And keeping shoes or socks on. And having one’s nappy changed.

These things unleash baby outrage on a scale of “I HATE YOU ALL!” + door-slam for good measure.

Being made to get dressed is a form of advanced torture that must be struggled through from beginning to end – and preferably SCREAMED through, too.

And heaven forbid anyone should want to wipe away the twin rivers of snot from that little face.  Apparently this is an indignity beyond torture and the correct reaction is RAGE!

FullSizeRenderAnd as for hair clips (sigh).  If I don’t clip up her fringe, she looks like Dougal and can’t see a thing.  If I do clip up her fringe, she looks totally adorable…. for ohh, maybe 20 mins, if we’re lucky.  This is usually how long it takes for nobody to be looking, at which point she tugs them out and hurls them into the St Margarets abyss, never to be seen again.  Along with whatever is on her feet.

We lose approximately two of these bows per day and I’m afraid I’ve started bulk-buying them in bargain basement packs of 30, made by children in Chinese sweat shops.

Bobbles fare no better and alice bands don’t even make it out of the house . Tsk!

Moving on…

In lofty news, my new hobby is staring at the internet in a state of mild panic, trying to buy things for fast delivery because the plumber suddenly needs a valve or a shower tray. I’m never sure if I’ve bought the right bits because, frankly, I know NOTHING about valves and waste pipes and diverter switches.

I wonder how people choose between a thousand different nigh-identical shower enclosures?  I can’t even work out why one of them is £178 and the one next to it is £599… and yet the spec, pics and descriptions appear 100% identical.

Suffice to say I know not what I order…  I’m ending up choosing stuff purely because it happens to be in stock and crossing my fingers that it all fits. We now have about 35 separate deliveries coming while I’m at work and I bet the builders won’t hear the door knocks. I’ve had to make a spreadsheet of what’s coming when. And none of my order numbers appear to exist in the online delivery tracking system.

Excuse me while I breathe into a paper bag…

#FWP

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Along came Matilda, Domestic Chaos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There was a little girl

  1. Lori says:

    My Norma was like that, couldn’t stand to feel her clothes. Socks were the worst, the seam had to be just so, or she would pull them off and scream. Once she was old enough to tell me the problem, we learned to check for bothersome seams on all pieces of clothing. (and when her hair grew out, we kept it in a braid). There was only one kind of sock that we could find that she could stand. It will be OK though, they grow up very fast, your post made me actually miss those tantrums.

Leave a Reply

