What you get for asking

I’ve been trying to teach the Microbe tube etiquette all week as he’s been accompanying me to a sports camp at work.  This basically equates to four things:

1. Don’t hog a seat that you don’t need
2. Don’t touch anything or anyone with feet or lollipops
3. Exercise volume control or, better still, be silent.
4. For the love of god, stop moving about

Alas, my training proved all in vain this morning when, at bleary commuter o’clock, he helpfully announced to the entire District Line carriage “It’s my Mummy’s birthday today!

I visibly shrank into my seat as every head swivelled my way. (Thankfully, we live in England, which meant that nobody broke into song. Lots of people simply gave me benevolent smiles and sympathetic glances before eye-swivelling back to their iPhones and newspapers).

All was well until a moment later, when a lovely Italian lady got on with her two teenage kids and sat next to the boy and began a conversation about what he was drawing (FYI – it was a half-elephant half-shrew creature that he labelled “elephant shroo”).

Then she asked him whether he knew any words in Italian…

Alas, I alone knew what was coming next. He promptly broke into song, at top volume, and disturbed the entire carriage once again with a ditty:

Mi scappa la pi pi
Mi scappa la pi pi
Mi scappa la pi pi, Papa!

He sings this song EVERY time he needs the loo and it translates roughly as “I’m bursting for a wee, daddy!” Should you wish to sing along, you can get the tune here. I think it’s quite well known in Italy.

The woman and her kids burst out laughing (the teenagers and another man opposite were almost crying) and asked how the hell he even knew that song. God bless Youtube, eh!

Well that’s all I’ve got time for right now because I have to get back to work. Arrivederci and all that.

 

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What you get for asking

  1. Anonymous says:

    have just literally laughed out loud imagining James and his ditty on the tube. Happy Birthday x

Leave a Reply

