Busy doing nothing

Can someone please re-boot early September for me? It doesn’t seem to be working properly. Wherefore art thou, Autumnal optimism and energy and enthusiasm and good intentions?

By 7th Sep I’m usually skipping about with creative zing, decluttering the flat and re-vamping my wardrobe and eyeing up boots and stationery and knitting tweedy things for Hubble. This time I’m an utter sluggard. I can just about drag my ever-expanding carcass to work and throw food at the children before falling asleep in front of the telly. And the flat seems to be untidying itself faster than we can tidy it.  (No, it’s not my fault for staying up stupidly late, building imaginary post-apocalyptic settlements in Fallout)

Anyway never mind all that, we have floorage – and the loft is looking splendiferous!!

Ta-daaaaa! Enjoy the white perfection before it gets covered in crayon.

We’re so close to finishing now, albeit with neighbourly obstructions. We really must get on and choose a stair carpet and sort out the kitchen.

Also we need bookcases and some sort of low-height slopey wardrobe-type object for the weirdly shaped loft alcove and something for the even weirder nook that only gnats can fit into.

Where can I find magical, Mary Poppins storage that is small but hides many sins? Having splurged on the floor, we can’t justify splurging on bespoke built-in wardrobes right now so we’ll have to just fake it with flat packs. I’ve started staring blankly at Pinterest boards of IKEA hacks …as if I have the time, inclination or skill to do any such thing.

Still – whilst failing to take care of the important stuff, I’ve managed one or two items of whimsy. I have a stash of picture frames at the ready to make a gallery of children’s illustrations up the rather gorgeous-looking loft stairway wall…  (pic of paint colour)

29417007232_a2c99b51d0_b

And this morning I made use of my commute and found an online place that sells metallic gold stars for the night-themed wall that I’m planning above the kids’ beds. (Note to self – you need to paint it first).

I’m feeling an increasing sense of trepidation/woe at the idea of emptying our storage unit and trying to find places for it all. We’re going to have to be even more ruthless on the way in than we were on the way out. Life would be so much easier if I gave up all of my creative interests… (Dear Marie Kondo, what do you do when you have 85 crates of yarn, paint and fabric and they all “spark joy”?)

Umm – the next post will be about the microbes, I promise.

The nutshell version is that they had a fab summer and school has resumed and all is jolly. The microbe is, more than ever, a gangly mass of bruised limbs. Hubble is largely made of tummy and has developed a shoe fetish. Bless!

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Life of James. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

