I started something

…and, typical me, typical me, typical me, it took ages to do the last 10% and actually finish the job.

But, lo and behold, I have at last made a window seat cushion and tacked up some fairy lights and I now deem the kids’ bedroom bookcases to be finished.

Though now I’m wondering if I ought to make little side cushions for the seat…  does it look a bit spartan, or is it just because it hasn’t got a blind up yet?  I quite fancy putting a rug down, too, in front of the bookcase.

bookcases_2

As you can see, I have artfully reserved space for additional books by wedging toys in here and there.  We’re also breeding a row of overflow books on top of the little wardrobe, mostly because they are annoying shapes and sizes.

bookcases_3

It all looks especially magical at bedtime when the lights are low, but my phone doesn’t take great pics in gloomth and I’m too idle and feckless right now to get my SLR out, so I shall leave it to the imagination.

bookcases_4

A nice side effect of this job is that we’ve rediscovered lots of books that had been neglected and forgotten, such as a box set of Winnie The Witch that’s currently doing great service at bedtime.  (G is starting to disapprove of my increasingly lengthy bedtime story sessions with the Microbe!)

The next job is to migrate their ‘tidy books’ front-facing bookcase onto the new landing and fill it up with the huge stack of picture books that are currently languishing on the spare room floor. I’d rather not put it on the landing, really, as I expect Matilda will simply sit at the top of the stairs and hurl books down with gay abandon. But there’s no other bit of wall in their room where it can reasonably go, because of all the sloping bits.  (Hmmm.)

Well that’s all for now. T’was just a lofty fly-by and now I have to tidy up the sewing machine chaos.

About Susan Flockhart

Bonsai lady-geek and blogger. I can hardly recall what I used to blog about pre-microbes, but these days I generally ramble about motherhood, nonsense and whatever's going on the world of tiny people
This entry was posted in Bookish rambles, Domestic Chaos. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

